Off-Road Disciplines pt.2

11 01 2007

So, I’ve read a few more pages in the Earl Creps book Off-Road Disciplines (Spiritual Adventures of Missional Leaders) – I’m up to chapter 7 now and haven’t posted in a while…I’ll try to come back and recap chapters 3-6 – but I was really challanged in chapter 6 and had to put down in print…

Chapter 6 is titled “Humility: The Discipline of Decreasing” – I want to summarize what was most challanging for me.

As leaders we’re quick to think that we are “central” (his phrase and a good one to use) to everything that goes on…that we are the all-knowing ones…that we are the ones that are all-powerful, never needing assistance from anyone…that we’re able to be everywhere at once that we’re needed – those are all descriptors of omniscience, omnipotence and omnipresence – something only God is.

So, the remedy for these is being able to use the 3 following phrases:

  1. “I Don’t Know” – we’re too afraid to use this, it indicates a weakness to our “position” (whatever that is…ministry isn’t about position though…I’ll blog about that another day though…)
  2. “I Need Your Help” – we become too dependent upon ourselves and forget to realize that it’s God who has put us in relationship in the BODY of Christ – that means we need each other – by using this phrase I admit my weakness and my necessity for you
  3. “I Am Sorry” – wow! This can be a tough one for some leaders – however, if we don’t use this phrase and use it when it’s warrented, we exalt ourselves…

By the way, anything that we do to exalt ourselves is the exact opposite of humility…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

