attitude check

21 11 2006

in our oh so fast paced society…it’s easy to forget the really important things in life. things like: family – especially distance family that you only see once in a while…perhaps only once every few years; friends – not the ones we do life with every day…the ones we did life with – you know the ones that got you to where you are now, the ones you helped get to where they are now, the ones that stayed up late with you in college to help you study, the ones who you played sports with and they challenged you only to make you better – just those 2 examples refine diligence and competitivenss within us all – man, there are so many more examples that i could give; we forget the simple things – like the fact that last night i slept in a warm home, while within any number of miles there were probably people that had no heat, bundled together trying to stay warm; we forget things like that songs we sing, the church we attend and serve, the neighbors who help you out when you face a major project.

So, in my busy-ness, i decided to pause for a moment (in this Thanksgiving season) to check my attitude about the things i SHOULD be thankful for…here are just a few…

my wife – what an awesome, Godly, beautiful woman – NEVER would have imagined that i’d have such a wonderful person to do life with – know what else – she’s more beautiful than ever! i love the life we share, the memories we make, the future we shape – together!

my son – such a cool person. i love the fact that Josh is Josh 24/7 – he’s not easily shaken in his faith – he’s strong. he’s serious about God and is a wonderful person to be with. he’s funny, witty and inteligent. i’m thankful that he likes taking rides with me in my truck so that we can ‘just talk’

my daughter – such a beautiful person. she has a strong personality (much like mine) and for that i’m thankful – she’s going to bold and determined in her walk with God. i’m thankful she’s ‘daddy’s girl’ – i pray she always will be. i love tucking her into bed (when its my turn) and singing to her – she doesn’t care that i’m not a good singer, just that i sing to her!

my mom – where i get much of my strength from – i’m thankful that she taught me some important character traits before ‘character education’ was cool – she instilled honesty, truthfulness and belief-in-your-family in me.

my dad – for having insisted that i go to church when i visited many years ago – i’m not sure where i’d be today if it weren’t for that!

my church – love serving there – what a privilege to serve the people of COTN – how cool is that?!!?

many more…perhaps i’ll add more if i have time – just felt it was muy importante to get it down(blog) and out(in public) – Thanksgiving isn’t the start of Christmas season – it’s its own season to be Thankful – one that runs from Thanksgiving day until Christmas eve for me this year…

may you be blessed and Thankful this season…

Actions

Information

One response

9 12 2006
Jeff Smith

You said, “she doesn’t care that i’m not a good singer, just that i sing to her” and as your former college roommate… I will make no joke here… he he he but I’m laughing on the inside.

Great to hear all the “sweetness” in your blog, but where’s the love for your old roomie? What am I, chopped liver? Now I’m crying… on the inside. Hey, where does all that “crying on the inside” go? Hmmmmm. Oh I think I figured it out… gotta GO!

Leave a Reply

